From 1917 to 1966 Singing Eagle Lodge was a two-month camp at a different site on Squam Lake. The original camp was founded and run by Dr. Ann Tomkins Gibson, whose vision and leadership made the camp unique. Girls returned year after year and many, as mothers, sent their own daughters.
A few years after the closing of the original camp, a group of alumnae sought a way to give a new generation of girls the kind of camp experience they had loved. Fortuitously, they were invited to use the facilities of Camp Deerwood for two weeks at the end of the summer, and in 1975, a two-week version of the original camp was started.
This new camp began with councillors who had attended the old camp and a handful of campers. Since 1975, the camp has grown and evolved, but the traditions have been preserved. Old camp songs and stories blend with new, and the leadership of the camp today is shared between old camp alumnae and women who grew up attending the new camp.